top of page

Running Through A Pandemic

Currently Training For: Covid-19 Relief 5K

Miles Completed Today: 1.76 (without stopping! :D )


Today I went to the gym for the first time since the Pandemic started. It was kind of surreal celebrating my own health and running on a treadmill while the workers circled around in masks wiping down machines and making sure people didn’t get too close to each other. As far as the patrons went, I was glad I was one of the few people that were crazy enough to be there. If I had to guess, I would say there were less than 10 in the whole place. That won’t be the case for very much longer. On Monday, the gym will start hosting socially distanced fitness classes and the following Monday they will go back to having 24/7 operations again. When I joined the gym, I was appreciative of those hours. I was working a night shift and getting of between 2 am and 4 am in this case meant that even fast food places had closed for the night, but the gym’s doors were open. I would go walk for a bit with the 2 or 3 other night owls or early birds. Times being what they are, it feels cruel to force people to work overnight. Gyms are already germy, but it’s even grosser with the threat of illness now.



I went this afternoon because the bed was just too cozy this morning, and I didn’t force myself up and out the door in time to take advantage of the cool morning air. Being that it’s June in Texas, you have to take the literal heat if you want to be outside. Maybe starting this project right as summer starts wasn’t the wisest plan. Oh well. I’m going to do it anyway.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page